Vihiga County

  • Save

A small History of my County – This is where I was Born.

Vihiga County whose headquarters is in Mbale is Located in the Western Region of Kenya. It boarders Nandi to the East, Kisumu County to the South, Siaya County to the West and KAKAMEGA County to the North. It is one of the four Counties in the former Western Province. Vihiga County has five Constituencies; Luanda, Emuhaya, Hamisi, Sabatia, and Vihiga.

H.E. Dr. Wilber K. Ottichilo is the current Governor for Vihiga County

The County’s population stands at 612,000. With an annual population growth rate of 2.51%, the population is projected to be 688,778 by the year 2017. It has an annual fertility rate of 5.1% which explains the high population rise. However, the age distribution is given as 0-14 years (45%), 15-64 years (49%), 65 years and above (6%) with the youth representing 25% of the population.

The ‘hill of vision’ is one of the major attractions and has the natural resources including forest stone quarry and rivers. With an annual rainfall of between 1800 mm and 2000 mm, the area is quite conducive with an average temperature of 24 degrees. Will keep updating you about our counties.

Scroll to Top
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap